MIA: Encyclopedia of Marxism: Glossary of Organisations



Austro-Hungarian Dual Monarchy

The Austro-Hungarian Dual Monarchy was established by the "Ausgleich" (compromise) between the Austrian government and the Hungarian opposition in 1867. The Monarchy consisted of what are present day Austria, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Croatia, and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and parts of Poland, Romania, Ukraine, and Italy. It was ruled by the Habsburgs until the revolution of 1918.